Office of Research

  • Distinguished Mentor Award and Lecture

    The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Distinguished Mentor Award honors faculty members whose distinguished careers have resulted in the mentoring of individuals who have gone on to have their own distinguished careers.  In its broadest sense, mentoring is meant to include research training, classroom teaching, clinical training, and faculty career development.  The Distinguished Mentor Lecture is given by an eminent person in a field related to the career interests of the award recipient.

    2016 Distinguished Mentor Award Celebration

    The 2016 Distinguished Mentor Award Celebration will be held on Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 3:00 PM in the Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110A MERF). 

    2016 Distinguished Mentor Awardee:  Dr. John E. Donelson, PhD
    Dr. Donelson, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, has an outstanding record of mentoring trainees, faculty and staff at all levels. By his example, and with his guidance and leadership, he has influenced the lives and careers of many scientists and physicians at Iowa and beyond.

    2016 Distinguished Mentor's Lecturer:  Dr. Thomas R. Cech, PhD
    Dr. Cech is Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Colorado Boulder, HHMI Investigator and received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1989 for his discovery of catalytic properties of RNA.

    Past Distinguished Mentor Awardees and Lecturers:

      Awardee Lecturer
    2015 M. Sue O'Dorisio, MD, PhD Robert Weinberg, PhD
    2014 Peter Densen, MD Bonnie Bassler, PhD
    2013 Allyn L. Mark, MD Bruce Spiegelman, PhD
    2012 Michael A. Apicella, MD David Oshinsky, PhD
    2011 David Wacker, PhD Huda Zoghbi, MD
    2010 Bruce Gantz, MD David Julius, PhD
    2009 Ignacio Ponseti, MD
    Stuart Weinstein, MD
    David Kingsley, PhD
    2008 Arthur Spector, MD Jeffrey Friedman, MD, PhD
    2007 Gary Hunninghake, MD Anthony Fauci, MD
    2006 François Abboud, MD Robert Lefkowitz, MD
    2005 Kevin P. Campbell, PhD Eric Kandel, MD
    2004 Jeffrey C. Murray, MD Mary-Claire King, PhD
    2003 Michel J. Welsh, MD Günter Blobel, MD, PhD
    2002 James A. Clifton, MD Stephen O'Rahilly, MD

    Nominations for the Distinguished Mentor Award:

    Candidates for the Distinguished Mentor Award should be outstanding mentors whose mentees have gone on to distinguished careers of their own.  Candidates should have spent a significant portion of their career at Iowa.  Candidates may include: a) Mentors who have finished their active careers or achieved emeritus status, or b) Senior active faculty who have already made a substantial impact in the training of individuals who have gone on to success as independent faculty members.  Candidates should be known for their collegiality, dedication to their profession, and the betterment of the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa.

    UI Carver College of Medicine faculty, staff and alumni may submit nominations.  Complete nominations should include: a letter outlining the rationale for the nomination, the nominee's curriculum vitae, a list of former trainees, and up to ten supporting letters from colleagues and former trainees.

    Nominations will remain active for three years.  Nominators may update previous nominations that are still active.  Please send all nominations to Angie Robertson.

    The deadline for the 2016 Distinguished Mentor Award nominations is July 31, 2016.


    The Distinguished Mentor Award and Distinguished Mentor's Lecture are made possible through a generous gift from Daryl Granner, 58BA, 62MS, 62MD, and Nancy Granner, 58BA.  Dr. Granner is a distinguished almunus, Professor Emeritus, and Founding Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, UI Carver College of Medicine.