• About Us 

    Bowen Science Building

    The Department of Microbiology is one of the five basic science departments located in the Carver College of Medicine at The University of Iowa. The Department is composed of 24 primary tenure-track, tenured, and research faculty, 2 lecturers, and 7 secondary appointment faculty members. The Department has a long history of excellence in teaching, research, and service in Microbiology and Immunology. For example, the Department has all-University teaching responsibilities, teaching basic and advanced Microbiology and Immunology to undergraduates, graduate students, and professional students (Medical, Dental, Nursing, and Pharmacy). 

    The faculty research programs in the Department of Microbiology are highly successful and internationally known for their excellence. The Department has three major broad areas of emphasis: Basic Bacteriology and Pathogenesis, Basic Virology and Pathogenesis, and Basic, Microbial, and Cancer Immunology. Specific research programs investigate emerging infectious diseases and biodefense pathogens and important global protozoan pathogen diseases, including malaria and leishmaniasis. Additionally, research laboratories study cell-cell and intracellular signaling within the immune system, governing normal and abnormal immune functions.

    The majority of the Department of Microbiology is located on the third floor of the Bowen Science Building (BSB), which is part of the Health Sciences complex. The other basic science departments are based in the BSB and include Anatomy and Cell Biology (first floor), Pharmacology (second floor), Biochemistry (fourth floor), and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics (fifth and sixth floors). Six Microbiology Department faculty members are located in immediately adjacent buildings in the Health Sciences complex. The clustering of Microbiology faculty members in close proximity promotes innovative and collaborative science. Additionally, Microbiology and Immunology are widely recognized as being translatable sciences. It is thus helpful that many Microbiology Department faculty members have joint appointments in adjacent Clinical Departments, promoting strong collaborations.

    The Department of Microbiology is located in the BSB on the west bank of the Iowa River. To see where we are located in the Iowa City-Coralville areas and within The University of Iowa, please see the Bowen Science Building in the regional and campus views, respectively.