News and Events

Bertozzi to present as part of Distinguished Lecture Series

The Carver College of Medicine’s 2013-2014 Distinguished Biomedical Scholars Lecture Series returns Thursday, February 20, with a talk by Howard Hughes Investigator and the T.Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD. Bertozzi’s talk, “Bioorthogonal Chemistry: From Mechanism to Organism,” is co-sponsored by the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics. It will be held at 4:00 p.m. in the Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF).

Bertozzi received her undergraduate degree in chemistry from Harvard University and her PhD in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley. Following postdoctoral work at the University of California, San Francisco in the field of cellular immunology, Bertozzi joined the UC Berkeley faculty.

Today, in addition to being an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Bertozzi is also the T.Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology at UC Berkeley. She is also a Senior Faculty Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Bertozzi’s research draws from both the fields of chemistry and biology with an emphasis on studies of cell surface glycosylation pertinent to states of disease.

The focus for the Bertozzi Research Group at their UC Berkeley laboratory is profiling changes in cell surface glycosylation associated with cancer, inflammation and bacterial infection in order to exploit the information for developments of diagnostic and therapeutic approaches. The group also develops nanoscience-based technologies for probing cell function and methods for protein engineering.

Bertozzi is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Both her research and teaching accomplishments have earned her the Lemelson-MIT Prize, the Ernst Schering Prize, a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry, the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering, and the Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award of the Protein Society. She has also received the UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award and the Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Story Source: UI Health Care Marketing and Communications, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room W319 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

Media Contact: Benji McElroy, UI Carver College of Medicine,