News and Events

Carver College of Medicine faculty honored for their achievements and contributions

Each year the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine recognizes faculty members who go above and beyond in their academic life, demonstrating the characteristics that make the college and the university among the best.

The University of Iowa Collegiate Teaching Award is given to the faculty members who demonstrate a significant teaching legacy, who inspire their students, and who consistently move beyond the classroom to reach their learners in new ways. This year’s recipients are:

• Kris A. DeMali, PhD, Biochemistry
• Sundar Krishnan, MBBS, Anesthesia
• Colleen Kennedy Stockdale, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
• Manish Suneja, MD, Internal Medicine

The Carver College of Medicine Faculty Service Award recognizes an individual who consistently and repeatedly provides outstanding service to the college, going well beyond his or her job description, pitching in when needed most. This year’s recipient is

• D. Lee Bennett, MD, Radiology

The Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award is presented to the faculty member who emulates Dr. Theilen’s ideals and devotion to patient care, teaching, and service.

• Richard E. Kerber, MD, Internal Medicine

J.P. Long Teaching Award in the Basic Sciences honors the basic scientist who demonstrates excellence in and dedication to graduate student education. This year’s recipient is

• Rory A. Fisher, PhD, Pharmacology,
Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is given to an individual faculty member who demonstrates compassion and caring in all aspects of his or her professional life. This year we honor
• Timothy A. Thomsen, MD, Surgery

President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence is a university-level award that recognizes outstanding and sustained dedication and innovation in education. As this is a university-level award, the College of Medicine does not always have a recipient. This year we are pleased to recognize the accomplishments of

• Peter A. Rubenstein, PhD, Biochemistry

Regents Award for Faculty Excellence is also a university-level award that honors individuals who have clearly made significant contributions to the institution through service, education, or research over an extended period of time. This is also a competitive university-level award. We are fortunate to have two recipients this year:

• Gary E. Rosenthal, MD, Internal Medicine
• Curt D. Sigmund, PhD, Pharmacology

A dinner will be held Wednesday, February 26, 2014 to honor the achievements of these individuals at the Brown Deer Golf Club in Coralville, Iowa.

Story Source: UI Health Care Marketing and Communications, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room W319 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

Media Contact: Jane Holland, Office of Faculty Affairs,