News and Events

Shea, Stewart honored as 'Women of Innovation'

Madeline Shea, PhD, professor of biochemistry, and Adele Stewart, a graduate student in the Department of Pharmacology, have been recently honored as “Women of Innovation” by the Technology Association of Iowa. It’s the association’s fifth year presenting the “Women of Innovation Awards,” which honor 11 Iowa women in 11 different categories.

Shea was honored for academic innovation and leadership in postsecondary education for creating the FUTURE (Fostering Undergraduate Talent – Uniting Research and Education) in Biomedicine Program within the Carver College of Medicine. The program develops research and learning partnerships with professors from Iowa colleges that do not offer doctoral programs. Utilizing a competitive application process, Iowa college professors are invited to conduct a research project in the laboratory of a faculty member of the Carver College of Medicine during the summer.

Stewart was recognized for collegiate innovation and leadership for her receipt of a pre-doctorate fellowship from the National Pharmaceutical Researchers and Manufacturers Association Foundation. Previously, Stewart was also been awarded a UI Presidential Fellowship (2009-2014) and has authored six published research papers.

Story Source: UI Carver College of Medicine, 200 College of Medicine Administration Building, Iowa City, Iowa 52242

Media Contact: Benji McElroy, UI Carver College of Medicine,