News and Events

Johnson receives Brody Award for Faculty Excellence

The University of Iowa has named Susan Johnson as a recipient of this year's Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service.

The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, president of the UI Faculty Senate in 1986-87. It recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the state of Iowa.

Susan R. Johnson—university ombudsperson, professor of obstetrics and gynecology in the Carver College of Medicine, and professor of epidemiology in the College of Public Health—has contributed generous service to the university, its colleges, and her profession throughout her career as a faculty member.

She served 12 years as a member and eventually chair of the Institutional Review Board’s Committee A (which reviews applications to perform research studies on human subjects). She was the first UI Health Care physician appointed by the governor to serve on the Iowa Board of Medicine Examiners, and has served on the National Board of Medical Examiners for almost 20 years.

Johnson has demonstrated her commitment to improving the climate for women and others on campus through service on influential task forces and committees. An expert on time management and productivity, she has had a lasting influence on the daily work of many faculty, staff, students, and community members through her popular workshops. In her current role as university ombudsperson, she contributes to a more positive campus climate on a daily basis by helping individuals solve difficult problems.

Story Source: UI Health Care Marketing and Communications, 200 Hawkins Drive, Room W319 GH, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1009

Media Contacts: Kris Yows, Office of the Provost, and Laura Zaper, Office of the Provost,