Three Iowa Faculty Honored by the Alumni Association


Three members of the Department of Dermatology were honored in the early summer for their service to the University. We join in our congratulations for these well-deserved honors!

  • UI Medicine Society Service Award was given to Richard Caplan (51MA, 55MD), who introduced innovations that dramtically broadened the concept of a complete medical education, including curricular programs in medical humanities and biomedical ethics at a time when such programs were unusual at schools of medicine. He also has championed learning through practical experience outside the college environment as a way to develop socially involved, compassionate physicians.
  • Marta VanBeek (MD 1997, MPH 2003) was awarded a University of Iowa Alumni Associations "Distinguished Young Alumni Award." In a remarkably short time, Marta VanBeek has distinguished herself as a leader in academic medicine at the state and national level. A key member of the American Academy of Dermatology, she played an active part in the recent national debate over healthcare reform. VanBeek showed her outstanding potential early at the UI, where she earned the Hancher Finkbine Medallion and the Medical Student Service Award. Now director of the divison of surgery in the UI Department of Dermatology, VanBeek recently received the prestigious North American Young Dermatologist International Achievement Award.
  • John&MartaDr. John S. Strauss was awarded the 2011 Alumi Association's Distinguished Faculty/Staff Award. Each year since 1963, the University of Iowa Alumni Association has presented accomplised alumni and friends with the association's highest honor--the Distinguished Alumni Award. In their presentation they aptly stated: "John Strauss is renowned for his contributions as a clinician, educator, and researcher in dermatology. A UI professor and head of the UI Department of Dermatology for 20 years, he mentored students, acted as president of every major organization in dermatology, and received numerous leadership awards, including the highest honor bestowed by the American Academy of Dermatology. Strass also holds a rare distinction as a gold level member of the UI Presidents Club, helping fund areas such as the Carver College of Medicine, Hancher Auditorium, and the Museum of Art."