• Congratulations to our new Chief Residents!

    Stephanie Stauffer and Carly Rysgaard

    Stephanie Stauffer, MD and Carly Rysgaard, MD have recently been named the Co-chief Residents for the Pathology Residency Program. We asked Steph and Carly what they most look forward to in taking on this new role:

    "I am honored and excited to begin my year as a co-chief for the UIHC pathology residency program.  I have had an outstanding educational experience while at UIHC, and I hope to use this year to give back as much as possible.  As a department, I believe that we consistently strive to provide the best quality patient care as possible, while also constantly challenging ourselves to improve our processes and provide a unique and well-rounded education to our residents, externs, and fellows.  I most look forward to working as a team with my co-residents this year to meet those goals." - Steph

    "I'm honored to be chosen as one of the 2014-2015 chief residents and will do my best to live up to the great examples set by our predecessors.  I feel fortunate to be part of such a strong and collaborative team where everyone's input is valued.  Looking ahead to the coming year, I am excited to work with faculty and my fellow residents to continue to make University of Iowa one of the best places to train!!" - Carly

    Many thanks to outgoing Chiefs Michelle Kurt-Mangold, MD and Brittany Pakalniskis, MD, for their excellent service over the past year as Co-Chief Residents.  We hope that the leadership skills they gained during this time will serve them well in their future careers.