Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Department Divisions

    The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology is comprised of six divisions:

    General Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Provides well-woman care for women of all ages and complete care for pregnancy and birth.

    Gynecologic Oncology

    The concentration of this division is the care of women with gynecologic malignancies.

    Maternal-Fetal Medicine

    Maternal-Fetal Medicine includes several clinics, including the High Risk Obstetric Clinic, Genetics Clinic, and the Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment Unit.

    Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

    The Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Division is active with both medical and surgical treatment of the full gamut of reproductive endocrinology and infertility conditions.

    Reproductive Science Research

    Established in 2009, the division includes five full time research faculty members and numerous faculty with joint appointments in other divisions in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and in other departments within the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. 

    Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery

    The Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery Division offers a number of services through the Urogynecology Clinic for evaluation and management of female pelvic floor disorders.