Obesity Research and Education Initiative

  • Leadership

    Dr. Allyn Mark

    Allyn Mark, MD

    Founding Co-Director, OREI
    Professor of Internal Medicine
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: allyn-mark@uiowa.edu

    Brenner 2015

    Charles Brenner, PhD

    Founding Co-Director, OREI
    Roy J. Carver Chair and Professor of Biochemistry
    Professor of Internal Medicine
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: charles-brenner@uiowa.edu

    janz

    Kathleen Janz, PhD

    Associate Director-Community-Based Research and Education, OREI
    Professor
    Health and Human Physiology
    College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

    Email: kathleen-janz@uiowa.edu

    snetselaar

    Linda Snetselaar, PhD

    Associate Director-Nutrition Research and Education, OREI
    Professor and Chair, Preventative Nutrition Education
    Department of Epidemiology
    Associate Head for Admissions and Curriculum, Department of Epidemiology
    Director, Nutrition Center
    Co- Director, Preventive Intervention Center
    Director, Dietetics Practice-Based Research Network (Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics)
    College of Public Health

    Email: linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu

    Steering Committee

    Dale Abel

    E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD

    Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center                                                                                                                                                 Director, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
    Professor of Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
    Professor of Biochemistry                                                                                                                    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: dale-abel@uiowa.edu

    M. Kathleen Clark

    M. Kathleen Clark, PhD, RN

    Professor
    College of Nursing

    Email: mary-clark@uiowa.edu

      Granner new 2

    Daryl Granner, MD

    Founding Director Emeritus, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center
    Professor Emeritus
    Departments of Internal Medicine and Physiology
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: daryl-granner@uiowa.edu

     A. Kim Johnson

    A. Kim Johnson, PhD

    F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor
    Departments of Pharmacology, Psychology and Integrative Physiology
    College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

    Email: alan-johnson@uiowa.edu

     Andrew Norris

    Andrew Norris, MD, PhD

    Associate Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
    Associate Professor of Biochemistry
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: andrew-norris@uiowa.edu

     Edith Parker

    Edith Parker, DrPH

    Professor and Head
    Department of Community and Behavioral Health
    Director, Preventional Research Center for Rural Health
    College of Public Health

    Email: edith-parker@uiowa.edu

     Linnea Polgreen

    Linnea Polgreen, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Pharmacy Practice & Science
    College of Pharmacy

    Email: linnea-polgreen@uiowa.edu

     Kamal Rahmouni

    Kamal Rahmouni, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Department of Pharmacology
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu

     Samuel2

    Isaac Samuel, MD

    Bariatric, Gastrointestinal, and Minimally-Invasive Surgeon
    Program Director, Bariatric Surgery Fellowship Program
    Director, UI Obesity Surgery Program
    Associate Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally-invasive and Bariatric Surgery
    Carver College of Medicine

    Email: isaac-samuel@uiowa.edu

     John Solow

    John Solow, PhD

    Professor, Departmental Executive Officer, and Director, Business Honors Program
    Justice International Business Research Fellow
    Tippie College of Business

    Email: john-solow@uiowa.edu

     Sharon Tucker

    Sharon Tucker, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC

    Senior Associate Director, Nursing Research & Evidence-Based Practice
    College of Nursing

    Email: sharon-tucker@uiowa.edu