Obesity Research and Education Initiative

  • New Faculty Appointments

    Since 2011, eleven new faculty were jointly recruited by the OREI and departments in the Carver College of Medicine (CCOM), College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Public Health, and Tippie College of Business. Here they are in alphabetical order:

      Baquero

    Barbara Baquero, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Community and Behavioral Health
    College of Public Health
    Research Interests: Obesity and chronic disease prevention and control interventions

    Email: barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

      Carr

    Lucas Carr, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Heath and Human Physiology
    College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
    Research Interests: Technology-based approaches to reducing sedentary behaviors,
    Socioenvironmental influences of physical activity and sedentary behaviors

    Email: lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

      Davies

    Brandon Davies, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Biochemistry
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: The role of endothelial cells in lipid metabolism

    Email: brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

      Frisvold

    David Frisvold, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Economics
    Tippie College of Business
    Research Interests: Health economics, school-based public policies, food assistance programs, food pricing strategies, soft drink taxes.

    Email: david-frisvold@uiowa.edu  

      Grobe

    Justin L. Grobe, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Pharmacology
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Identify novel therapeutic targets for increasing resting metabolic rate as an alternative or adjunct to conventional therapies

    Email: justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

      Grueter

    Chad Grueter, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Internal Medicine
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Energy homeostatis

    Email: chad-grueter@uiowa.edu

      Lira

    Vitor Lira, PhD 

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Health and Human Physiology
    College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
    Research Interests: Skeletal muscle biology and its influence in whole-body metabolic homeostasis

    Email: vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

      Matthew Potthoff

    Matthew J. Potthoff, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Pharmacology
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Regulation of metabolic homeostasis

    Email: matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

     
    Sebag 2

    Julien Sebag, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Molecular Physiology & Biophysics
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Identifying new proteins and pathways involved in the control of energy homeostasis

    Email: julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

     
    Sindler

    Amy Sindler, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Health and Human Physiology
    College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    Research Interests: The effects of aging and exercise training on oxidative stress and nitric oxide signaling on vascular endothelial function homeostasis

    Email: amy-sindler@uiowa.edu

      Taylor

    Eric Taylor, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Biochemistry
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms regulating mitochondrial function and their relationship to disease

    Email: eric-taylor@uiowa.edu  

     

    In addition, two other new faculty engaged in obesity research were appointed in the CCOM.

     

      Michael Lutter

    Michael L. Lutter, MD, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Psychiatry
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests:

    Email: michael-lutter@uiowa.edu

      Lyse Norian

    Lyse A. Norian, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Urology
    Carver College of Medicine
    Research Interests: Impact of obesity on dendritic cell and T cell function in cancer

    Email: lyse-norian@uiowa.edu