Microbiology

  •  

    Research Experience for Undergraduates in Microbiology
    at The University of Iowa

    Summer 2013 Schedule of Events

     Date Schedule of Events
    May 28 (Tue) Housing check-in; Welcome pizza party
    May 29 (Wed) Orientation and group lunch
    May 31 (Fri) Biosciences Program: Survival Skills Workshop for Young Researchers
      Group lunch: discussion of first week
    June 2 (Sun) BBQ at Dr. David Weiss' home
    June 4 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Richard Roller, "Cell-to-Cell Spread of Herpesviruses"
       Biosciences Program Welcome Reception
    June 5 (Wed) Ice cream social with Department of Microbiology
    June 7 (Fri) Group lunch: Student presentations
    June 11 (Tue) Field trip to Vertex Pharmaceuticals
    June 14 (Fri) Group lunch: Student presentations
    June 18 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Jon Houtman, "The Role of Fak in T Cell Activation: How Being Wrong is Sometimes a Good Thing"
    June 21 (Fri) Group lunch: Student presentations
    June 25 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Alex Horswill, "Quorum sensing and quenching in Staphylococcus aureus"
    June 28 (Fri) Group lunch: Student presentations
    July 2 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Craig Ellermeier, "Identification of a bacterial receptor for lysozyme"     
    July 9 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. John Kirby, "Chemosensory Regulation of Multicellularity in Soil Bacteria"
    July 12 (Fri) Group lunch: Roundtable discussion with co-mentors
    July 16 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Steven Clegg, "Selecting and Getting Admitted to a Graduate Program"
    July 19 (Fri) Group lunch: Poster workshop
    July 23 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Chioma Okeoma, "Viral and host factors in Chikungunya virus (CHIKV) infection and pathogenesis"
    July 26 (Fri) Group lunch: Responsible conduct of research
    July 30 (Tue) Biosciences Program Farewell Reception
    July 31 (Wed) UI Summer Undergraduate Research Conference (poster presentations)
      End of summer celebration dinner
    August 1 (Thu) Group lunch: Program evaluation/wrap-up
    August 2-3 (Fri-Sat) Housing check out