Microbiology

  • Research Experience for Undergraduates in Microbiology
    at The University of Iowa

    Summer 2009 Schedule of Events

    Date Schedule of Events
    May 31 (Sun) Check-in at Mayflower Hall; Welcome pizza party at Mayflower
    June 1 (Mon) Orientation session, Bowen Science Building (BSB)
    June 3 (Wed) Group lunch: graduate student Janet Wilson, guest
    June 4 (Thu) Seminar: Dr. David Weiss, "Green Fluorescent Protein"
    June 7 (Sun) Picnic at Kent Park
    June 9 (Tue) Seminar: Dr. Eric Skaar, Vanderbilt University, "The battle for metal between Staphylococcus aureus and its host"
    June 10 (Wed) Group lunch: graduate student Matt Thoendel, guest
    June 11 (Thu) Biosciences Welcome Reception
    June 12 (Fri) GRE Diagnostic Exam
    June 14 (Sun) BBQ at Dr. David Weiss' home
    June 17 (Wed) Biosciences Program: Survival Skills Workshop for Young Researchers
    June 18 (Thu) Seminar: Dr. Ken Moore, "Microscopy
    June 19 (Fri) Attend play, "The Clean House"
    June 24  (Wed) Group lunch: graduate student Tiara Pérez, guest
    June 25 (Thu) Seminar: Dr. Linda McCarter discussion on responsible conduct of research
    July 1 (Wed) Group lunch: Student presentations
    July 8 (Wed) Group lunch: Student presentations
    July 9 (Thu) Seminar: Dr. Steven Clegg, "Graduate school"
    July 15 (Wed) Group lunch: Student presentations
    July 16 (Thu) Seminar: Dr. Kevin Knudtson, "DNA technology"
    July 22 (Wed) Group lunch: Student presentations
    July 23 (Thu) Field trip to Vertex Pharmaceuticals
    July 24 (Fri) Group lunch: Dr. Richard Roller, "Careers in microbiology"
    July 29 (Wed) Group lunch: End of summer program meeting
    July 30 (Thu) UI Summer Undergraduate Research Conference (poster presentations)
      End of summer celebration dinner
    July 31 (Fri) Research papers due
    July 31-Aug 1 (Fri-Sat) Check out from Mayflower Hall