MD Program

Contact the PBA Program

1216 MERF
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2600
Phone:(319) 384-3027
Fax: (319) 335-8643

  • Information for Current Standardized Patients

    Training

    Once you are invited to join the PBA Program, you will be asked to indicate your interest and availability to participate in upcoming PBA exams. Two-three weeks prior to that exam, you will be contacted to set up a convenient time to train and rehearse. We are flexible and do make an effort to work around class, work, performances, etc.

    New SPs should expect to put in 6-10 hours of rehearsal prior to working with medical students. Experienced SPs should expect to rehearse at least once prior to each exam regardless of how often the role has been portrayed. All SPs should expect to train prior to each exam. Most performances occur on Thursday or Friday. Training is usually focused during the week of the exam. A variety of times are offered to accommodate a most schedules. SPs are paid for training time.

    After case selection is complete, we begin the process of recruiting and assigning SPs. We begin to read and study the cases and role-play the patient-physician interaction. Additionally, we review video recordings of previous PBA exams in order to continually improve our work. After learning the roles, our SPs go through “mock encounters” or dress rehearsals with a number of faculty and lead trainers. These physicians also provide feedback on the cases and to the SPs so that the content of the cases and the portrayal of the patient are realistic. In this way, we can present the most realistic, reliable, consistent, and accurate cases possible. SPs are required to accurately complete an assessment checklist. 

    Training is paid at a flat rate of pay: $11 per hour. Training is scheduled according to SP availability. We strive to train in small groups whenever possible, since this is the best way to “standardize” the performance and the checklists.

    Pay Rates and Payroll

    SPs are paid on  a tiered scale - each SP employed by the PBA program will be identified as a Level I, II, or III (the performance rate will increase with experience). 

     Wage Schedule for Standardized Patients and Simulated Patient Instructors 

      Level I Level II Level III
    Length of Service <2 yrs. >2 to <5 yrs. >5 yrs.
    Training Rate $11.00/hr. $11.00/hr. $11.00/hr.
    Performance Rate $14.00/hr. $16.00/hr. $20.00/hr.

     Pay Schedule

     Effective 8/21/2011, a bi-weekly payroll system will be used. Please refer to the bi-weekly payroll table for specific details.

    Pay Period E.T.R.’s Due Check Issued 
    July 6 thru July 19, 2014 7/22/2014 17:00 29-Jul-14
    July 20 thru Aug. 2, 2014 5:00 PM Aug. 5 Aug. 12, 2014
    Aug. 3 thru Aug. 16, 2014 5:00 PM Aug. 19 Aug. 26, 2014
    Aug. 17 thru Aug. 30, 2014 5:00 PM Sept. 2 Sept. 9, 2014
    Aug. 31 thru Sept. 13, 2014 5:00 PM Sept. 16 Sept. 23, 2014
    Sept. 14 thru Sept. 27, 2014 5:00 PM Sept. 30 Oct. 7, 2014
    Sept. 28 thru Oct. 11, 2014 5:00 PM Oct. 14 Oct. 21, 2014
    Oct. 12 thru Oct. 25, 2014 5:00 PM Oct. 28 Nov. 4, 2014
    Oct. 26 thru Nov. 8, 2014 5:00 PM Nov. 11 Nov. 18, 2014
    Nov. 9 thru Nov. 22, 2014 5:00 PM Nov. 24 Dec. 2, 2014
    Nov. 23 thru Dec. 6, 2014 5:00 PM Dec. 9 Dec. 16, 2014
    Dec. 7 thru Dec. 20, 2014 5:00 PM Dec. 22 Dec. 30, 2014
    Dec. 21 thru Jan. 3, 2015 5:00 PM Jan. 6 Jan. 13, 2015
    Jan. 4, thru Jan. 17, 2015 5:00 PM Jan. 20 Jan. 27, 2015
    Jan. 18 thru Jan. 31, 2015 5:00 PM Feb. 3 Feb. 10, 2015
    Feb. 1 thru Feb. 14, 2015 5:00 PM Feb. 17 Feb. 24, 2015
    Feb. 15 thru Feb. 28, 2015 3/3/2014 17:00 10-Mar-15
    March 1 thru March 14, 2015 3/17/2014 17:00 24-Mar-15
    March 15 thru March 28, 2015 3/31/2014 17:00 7-Apr-15
    March 29 thru April 11, 2015 4/14/2014 17:00 21-Apr-15
    April 12 thru April 25, 2015 4/28/2014 17:00 5-May-15
    April 26 thru May 9, 2015 5/12/2014 17:00 19-May-15
    May 10 thru May 23, 2015 5/26/2014 17:00 2-Jun-15
    May 24 thru June 6, 2015 6/9/2014 17:00 16-Jun-15
    June 7 thru June 20, 2015 6/23/2014 17:00 30-Jun-15
    June 21 thru July 4, 2015 7/7/2014 17:00 14-Jul-15

    SPs are required to sign up for direct deposit (scroll down for the link to the direct deposit form), as the university will not mail checks to any individual. Contact Barbara Brown (barbara-brown@uiowa.edu or call 319 384 3027) with payroll questions.

    Exam Schedule

    The schedule is determined by the clerkship directors and the members of the PBA staff at least one year in advance. Currently, we run PBAs for the Ambulatory Practice Module (APM), Psychiatry, Surgery, Pediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynecology (OB/Gyn) clerkships.  Additionally, we run PBAs for the PA Program.

    Standardized Patients (SPs) are expected to arrive at least 30 minutes prior to the exam start time in order to change into hospital attire, receive instructions, obtain their schedule for the exam, and take their places. During the exam, all SPs who are not involved in an encounter with a medical student will observe another encounter from 2187. Once an SP has completed his or her encounters with the medical student, straightened the exam room, placed linens in their spot, and turned in all materials, the SP is free to go.

    Please scroll down to see the current  PBA Exam Schedule.

    Date Day Exam
    July 17, 2014 Thursday Psychiatry
    July 18, 2014       Friday Neurology
    July 18, 2014     Friday Surgery
    July 25, 2014 Thursday Pediatrics
    Aug. 7, 2014 Thursday OB/Gyn
    Aug. 14, 2014 Thursday Psychiatry
    Aug. 15, 2014 Friday Neurology
    Sept. 5, 2014 Friday Pediatrics
    Sept. 11, 2014 Thursday Psychiatry
    Sept. 12, 2014 Thursday  Neurology
    Sept. 18, 2014  Thursday OB/Gyn
    Sept. 19, 2014 Friday AM PA2
    Sept. 19, 2014 Friday PM APM
    Oct. 9, 2014 Thursday Psychiatry
    Oct. 10, 2014 Friday Neurology
    Oct. 10, 2014 Friday Surgery
    Oct. 17, 2014 Friday Pediatrics
    Oct. 30, 2014 Thursday OB/Gyn
    Nov. 6, 2014  Thursday     Psychiatry
    Nov. 7, 2014 Friday Neurology
    Nov. 21, 2014 Friday     Surgery
    Dec. 4, 2014 Thursday Psychiatry
    Dec. 5, 2014  Friday      Neurology
    Dec. 5, 2014 Friday Pediatrics
    Dec. 11, 2014 Thursday OB/Gyn
    Dec. 12, 2014 Friday AM PA2
    Dec. 12, 2014 Friday PM APM
    Jan. 22, 2015 Thursday Psychiatry
    Jan. 23, 2015 Friday Neurology
    Jan 23, 2015 Friday  Surgery
    Jan. 30, 2015 Thursday Pediatrics
    Feb. 12, 2015 Friday OB/Gyn
    Feb. 19, 2015 Thursday Psychiatry
    Feb. 20, 2015 Friday Neurology
    Mar. 6, 2015 Friday Surgery
    Mar. 13, 2015 Friday Pediatrics 
    Mar. 19, 2015 Thursday Psychiatry
    Mar. 20, 2015  Friday Neurology
    Mar. 26, 2015 Thursday OB/Gyn
    Mar. 27, 2015 Friday AM PA 2
    Mar. 27, 2014 Friday PM APM
    Apr. 16, 2015 Thursday  Psychiatry
    Apr. 17, 2015  Friday Neurology
    Apr. 17, 2015  Friday      Surgery
    Apr. 24, 2015  Friday      Pediatrics
    May 7, 2015 Thursday OB/Gyn
    May 9, 2015    Friday     Pediatrics
    May 14, 2015  Thursday Psychiatry
    May 15, 2015 Friday Neurology
    May 29, 2015 Friday Surgery
    June 5, 2015 Thursday Pediatrics
    June 11, 2015 Thursday      Psychiatry
    June 12, 2015 Friday Neurology
    June 18, 2015 Thursday OB/Gyn
    June 20, 2015 Friday PM APM