Family Medicine

  • Research Faculty and Staff

     Levy, Barcey 100x150

    Barcey T. Levy, MD, PhD

    Vice Chair for Research
    Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7000
    Email: barcey-levy@uiowa.edu

    • Colorectal cancer screening
    • Women's health
    • Osteoporosis
    • Health promotion 
     
     Axelson, Rick 100x150

    Rick Axelson, PhD

    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-4291
    Email: rick-axelson@uiowa.edu

    • Learning evaluation (theory, methods, practice)
    • Learning outcomes assessment
    • Learning communities
    • Role of social and psychological factors in learning environments   
     
     Bergus, George

    George R. Bergus, MD, MA-Ed

    Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7566
    Email: george-bergus@uiowa.edu

    • Psychiatry in a primary care setting
    • Medical decision making  
     
     Carter, Barry 100x150

    Barry L. Carter, PharmD

    Professor of Pharmacy
    Phone: (319) 335-8456
    Email: barry-carter@uiowa.edu

    • Hypertension
    • Pharmacy/physician collaboration 
     
     Daly, Jeanette

    Jeanette M. Daly, RN, PhD

    Associate Research Scientist
    Phone: (319) 384-8995
    Email: jeanette-daly@uiowa.edu

    • Elder abuse
    • Legislation related to elder abuse
    • Colorectal cancer screening
    • Fecal immunochemical testing 
     
     Dawson, Jeffrey 100x150

    Jeffrey Dawson, ScD

    Professor of Biostatistics
    Phone: (319) 384-1510
    Email: jeffrey-dawson@uiowa.edu

    • Statistical consultant for family medicine
    • Biostatistics 
     
     Ely, John 100x150

    John W. Ely, MD, MPH

    Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7533
    Email: john-ely@uiowa.edu

    • Physicians' Information Needs
    • Diagnostic Errors
    • Checklists 
     
     Ernst, Michael 100x150

    Mike E. Ernst, PharmD

    Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7756
    Email: michael-ernst@uiowa.edu

    • Geriatrics
    • Drug-related problems
    • Appropriate medication use
    • Ambulatory blood pressure management 
     
     Gaglioti, Anne 100x150

    Anne Gaglioti, MD

    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 356-2076
    Email: anne-gaglioti@uiowa.edu

    • Health care of incarcerated people
    • Health disparities
    • Health Geography 
     
     Graber, Mark 100x150

    Mark A. Graber, MD

    Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine
    Phone: (319) 353-6360
    Email: mark-graber@uiowa.edu

    • Medical ethics
    • Medical informatics 
     
     James, Paul 100x150

    Paul A. James, MD

    Professor and Head, Department of Family Medicine
    Donald J. and Anna M. Ottilie Chair in Family Medicine 
    Phone: (319) 384-7500
    Email: paul-james@uiowa.edu

    • Quality of primary care measures
    • Rural health service delivery
    • Medical education and measures of instructional quality 
     
     Jogerst, Gerald 100x150

    Gerald Jogerst, MD

    Senior Vice Chair
    Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7704
    Email: gerald-jogerst@uiowa.edu

    • Elder abuse
    • International family medicine training
    • Methods of teaching geriatric medicine 
     
     Kreiter, Clarence 100x150

    Clarence D. Kreiter, PhD

    Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
    Phone: (319) 335-8906
    Email: clarence-kreiter@uiowa.edu

    • Statistics
    • Performance assessment
    • Psychological measurement
    • Item response theory
    • Generalization theory
    • Experimental design
    • Social implications of testing and test design
    • Clinical reasoning assessment
    • OSCE assessment 
     
     Rosenbaum, Marcy 100x150

    Marcy E. Rosenbaum, PhD

    Associate Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
    Phone: (319) 335-8612
    Email: marcy-rosenbaum@uiowa.edu

    • Medical education
    • Physician-patient communications
    • Qualitative research 
     
     Weckmann, Michelle

    Michelle Weckmann, MD

    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    Phone: (319) 384-7538
    Email: michelle-weckman@uiowa.edu

    • Delirium (identification, treatment and prevention)
    • Palliative Care 
     


    Research Support Staff

    Kati Jumper

    Research Secretary
    Office: 01290-5 PFP
    Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242
    Work Phone: 319-384-7765
    Email: kati-jumper@uiowa.edu

     

    Julie Mock, B.S., M.A.

    Research Secretary
    Office: 01290-6 PFP
    Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242
    Work Phone: 319-384-8544   
    Email: julie-mock@uiowa.edu

      Merchant, Mary

    Mary Merchant, RN, PhD

    Research Associate
    Office: 01102-B PFP
    Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242
    Work Phone: 319-384-8993
    Email: mary-merchant@uiowa.edu  

    Moss, Carol 

    Carol Moss, BS

    Research Associate
    Office: 01102-B PFP
    Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242
    Work Phone: 319-356-4486
    Email: carol-moss@uiowa.edu

    Xu, Yinghui 

    Yinghui Xu, MS

    Statistician/Biostatistician
    Office: 01290-C PFP
    Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242
    Work Phone: 319-384-5078
    Email: yinghui-xu@uiowa.edu