Office of Faculty Affairs and Development

  • Faculty Service Award


    Voluntary faculty service is critical to the effective functioning of the College. The purpose of this award is to annually acknowledge a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the College of Medicine in the area of service. This award will complement the John P. Long Basic Science Teaching Award and the Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award.


    Nominees must have a University based faculty appointment, in either the tenure track or the salaried clinical track. Nominees should have a record of multiple service activities, or a single major activity, over a sustained period. The primary type of service for which this award is intended includes non-compensated work on, for example, committees and ad hoc projects, and other types of leadership roles undertaken for the benefit of the College. Other Collegiate awards recognize clinical service and teaching per se, and so these are not the primary types of service referred to. Individuals who will be eligible for this award will often have a record of excellent service to their department, their discipline, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and/or the larger University community. Although these activities should be included as supporting evidence by the nominator, there must be a clear record of important service to the College.

    Nomination and Selection Process

    The Executive Committee will send nomination forms to each faculty member (defined as those faculty members who meet the criteria for voting in the College of Medicine Manual of Procedure). There will be a minimum two-week period for the receipt of nominations. Nominees shall be active faculty members, and shall not be a current department chair, dean, or member of the Executive Committee. Faculty members may not nominate themselves. Members of the Executive committee may not themselves make nominations. The sitting Executive Committee shall choose the awardee.

    The following materials should be included for a nomination:

    • A letter from the primary nominator, recounting the nominee's qualifications
    • The curriculum vitae of the nominee
    • Two additional letters of recommendation

    The final selection will be made during an executive session of the Committee, in November or December. The Dean will present the award to the recipient at the annual College of Medicine Faculty Recognition event in February.


    The awardee will receive a plaque indicating the name of the award and the recipient's name. The awardee's name will also be listed on a plaque to be placed in a suitable prominent place in the College of Medicine). The awardee will receive $1,000 from the Dean's Faculty Development Fund. The Executive Committee and the Dean will review the amount of the award every three years.


    Year Name Department
    2013 D. Lee Bennett Radiology
    2012 Madeline Shea Biochemistry
    2011   Beverly Davidson Internal Medicine
    2010 Peter Rubenstein Biochemistry
    2009 Todd Burstain Internal Medicine
    2008 Georges El-Khoury Radiology
    2007 Claibourne Dungy Pediatrics
    2006 Pamela Geyer Biochemistry
    2005 Richard LeBlond Internal Medicine
    2004 Robert Rodnitzky Neurology
    2003 Craig Porter Pediatrics
    2002 Thomas Schmidt Physiology and Biophysics
    2001 Kimberly Ephgrave Surgery
    2000 David Rosenthal Family Medicine
    1999 Leon Burmeister Preventative Medicine and Environmental Health
    1998 Janet Schlechte Internal Medicine