Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

News and Events

UI oculoplastic surgeon wins leadership award

UI Ophthalmologist, Erin Shriver, MD, was selected for the 2015 Emerging Leader Award by Women in Ophthalmology (WIO). The organization met for its Summer Symposium on August 6-9 in Scottsdale, Arizon...

UI Hospitals and Clinics still Iowa's best

U.S. News & World Report released its annual “Best Hospitals” rankings for 2015-16 and once again, UI Hospitals and Clinics is included among the leading hospitals in the United States.  The UI Depart...

Iowa Vision Newsletter, Spring-Summer 2015

Read our newest newsletter (pdf).

Serving the underserved

Residents and fellows from the University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences recently partnered with the Iowa City Free Medical Clinic (ICFMC) to offer a Diabetic Eye Disease Scre...

 UI Ophthalmologists honored for service to profession

Two University of Iowa Ophthalmology faculty have been honored for their service to the profession by national organizations. 

Early Distinguished Career Achievement Award goes to UI Ophthalmology Alum

A former resident from the Department of Ophthalmology, Dr. Andrew Doan, was awarded the 2015 Early Distinguished Career Achievement Award from the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. The a...

Iowa vision researchers examining immune response in stem cell transplantation

A preclinical study by WIVR researchers has found that there is an adverse immune response to allogenic subretinal stem cell transplantation.;

University of Iowa Stephen A. Wynn Institute for Vision Research Announces New Endowment for Human Retinal Engineering 

The University of Iowa Stephen A. Wynn Institute for Vision Research announced today two large steps forward in the battle against blinding eye disease. Both are made possible by a major gift from Cal...

 UI ophthalmologist receives community service award  

 Dr. William Scott was chosen by the Iowa Medical Society (IMS) to receive the 2015 Physician Community Service Award. This award is given annually to a physician who has made outstanding contribution...

 Ophthalmologists with Iowa ties inducted into ASCRS Hall of Fame 

Emeritus chairman and former faculty member, Frederick C. Blodi, MD(deceased), was inducted into the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Ophthalmology Hall of Fame.

 UI stem-cell researcher selected for Research to Prevent Blindness award 

University of Iowa researcher Budd Tucker, PhD, has been awarded one of three Research to Prevent Blindness/International Retinal Research Foundation Catalyst Awards for Stem Cell Research Approaches ...

Ophthalmology Resident Wins Great Catch Award

Ophthalmology resident Johanna D. Beebe, MD was awarded the UIHC 2015 Great Catch Award, which honors care providers who identify potential threats and take action to prevent harm to patients.