Internal Medicine

Davis, Milhem and Schlechte Receive UI Physicians Clinical Awards

UIP Awards 2013

Three Internal Medicine clinical physicians received awards voted on by their peers at the University of Iowa Physicians Annual Meeting on Oct. 21. The University of Iowa Physicians (UIP) Clinical Awards were established in 2011 to honor clinical excellence among members of UIP. This year’s award recipients are:

Clinician of the Year - Rebecca Davis, MD, General Internal Medicine

Innovations in Clinical Care - Mohammed Milhem, MBBS, Hematology, Oncology and Blood & Marrow Transplantation

Patient Satisfaction/Service Excellence - Janet Schlechte, MD, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Davis, RebeccaRebecca Davis, MD
General Internal Medicine, Iowa River Landing
Dr. Rebecca Davis works tirelessly with a wonderful clarity of thought and a directness that is greatly appreciated by her loyal patients. A fierce advocate for her patients, she persistently navigates the medical system for their benefit. She teaches efficiency and experienced wisdom to residents and medical students and still finds time to advance her own medical knowledge. Since joining UI Health Care in 2007, she has applied her considerable experience in private practice, gaining recognition not only from her patients but from colleagues who seek her out for personal care. Watch Dr. Davis' video.

Milhem, MohammadMohammed Milhem, MBBS
Hematology, Oncology and Blood & Marrow Transpolantation
As deputy director for clinical cancer services at Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Iowa, Dr. Mohammed Milhem is one of the most innovative and successful clinicians in the department. In the past year, he has created new, and revitalized existing, multidisciplinary oncology groups, or MOGs. Under his direction, three types of MOGs (tumor boards, research groups, teaching conferences) have flourished, strengthening the interdisciplinary management of patients and research activities including clinical trials. His organizational and leadership skills are considerable and not only raise the bar in oncology services but also inspire other clinical disciplines. Watch the video.

Schlechte, JanetJanet Schlechte, MD
Endocrinilogy and Metabolism
The loyalty and devotion that Dr. Janet Schlechte’s patients profess for her are gratifying and enduring. She has been and continues to be one of the Department of Internal Medicine’s top performers, scoring in the 99th percentile nationally on patient satisfaction scores. In her recent role as interim director for the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism, her enthusiasm for service excellence has had an effect on her faculty and, notably, has not diminished with her many additional administrative responsibilities. Watch the video.

The Clinician of the Year Award is given to a clinician who most embodies those aspects of a truly great patient service provider, including technical skill, humanism to patients and families, collaboration with colleagues, and advocacy.

The Innovations in Clinical Care Award is given to an individual and/or team for implementation of an innovative new program or process that improves service to patients.

The Patient Satisfaction and Service Excellence Award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding patient satisfaction. Metrics can include Press Ganey Total Score, most improved score, and/or other patient feedback.