Internal Medicine

  • Welcome!

    The Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Iowa is the largest division within the Department of Medicine, with nearly 80 faculty members. Under the leadership of Richard Hoffman, MD, MPH, the Division strives to achieve excellence in our missions of patient care, education, and research.

    Division members provide outstanding care to outpatients at the Iowa River Landing and the Iowa City VA clinics, to hospitalized patients at the University of Iowa Health Center and Iowa City VA hospital, as well as to patients in geriatric medicine and palliative care. The Division is also actively engaged in quality improvement initiatives and training that directly benefits patient care. Faculty are very involved in medical school and graduate teaching, holding key institutional educational leadership roles in the Department of Medicine, Graduate Medical Education, the Internal Medicine Residency Training Program, Medical Student Clerkships, and the VA General Medicine and Quality Scholars Fellowships. Our faculty lead major research programs, including the Iowa Clinical Translational Sciences center and the VA Center for Comprehensive Access & Delivery Research & Evaluation, as well as the Program in Bioethics and Humanities. Researchers collaborate with colleagues throughout the institution and successfully mentor junior faculty and trainees. Division members also serve in key leadership roles for the University’s diversity program and the VA medicine service.

  • Division Highlights

    Musab Hommos, Krista Johnson, and Katie White Receive Masters in Medical Education
    Musab Hommos, Krista Johnson, and Katie White recently received their Masters in Medical Education. The program is offered through OCRME and provides clinicians the experience and skills they need to teach medical students, residents, fellows, and their peers. Congratulations to Musab, Krista, and Katie on this accomplishment!

    Aparna Kamath Appointed to Hospital Quality and Patient Safety Committee
    Aparna Kamath was recently appointed to the National Hospital Quality and Patient Safety Committee through the Society of Hospital Medicine for the term of March 2015-March 2016. Congratulations to Aparna on this accomplishment!

    Kevin Glenn Accepted to Master of Health Care Delivery Science (MHCDS) Program at Dartmouth
    Please join us in congratulating Kevin Glenn on his recent acceptance to the prestigious Master of Health Care Delivery Science (MHCDS) program at Dartmouth. The program aims to improve the delivery of healthcare while achieving better outcomes for the same or lower costs through scientifically, ethically, and managerially sound methods. Kevin was accepted along with three other UI staff and faculty members and will complete the program in February 2017. We wish Kevin the best of luck on this endeavor and look forward to the Hospitalist Program and the Division benefitting from his burgeoning expertise.

    Melinda Johnson Receives Senior Fellow in Hospital Medicine (SFHM) Designation

    Please join us in congratulating Melinda Johnson on her recent designation as a Senior Fellow in Hospital Medicine (SFHM) from the Society of Hospital Medicine. Dr. Johnson is one of 61 members to be inducted at the 2015 Society of Hospital Medicine National Meeting in National Harbor, MD. The elite designation is given to hospitalists who demonstrate dedication to quality and process improvement, have illustrated a commitment to organizational teamwork and leadership, are active in lifelong learning and education, and who have served as a hospitalist for at least 5 years. Congratulations to Melinda on achieving this wonderful career milestone!

  • Upcoming Division Events